Tuesday , August 4 2020
Breaking News
Home / International Customs / Philippines to set up 17 coal stations by 2020
Philippines to set up 17 coal stations by 2020

Philippines to set up 17 coal stations by 2020

LUZON: The Philippines government has planned to set up 34 new power projects including 17 coal projects in Luzon from 2014 to 2020, which would help in enhancing the power sector of the country.

Prospective coal power plants, according to the data, will generate over 10,000 megawatts of electricity until 2020.

Around 14 committed coal plants with a total capacity of 3,929 megawatts are expected onstream from 2014 to 2018. Seven of these projects are located in Luzon, five in Mindanao and two in Visayas.

An additional 20 indicative power plants with a total capacity of 7,730 MW are expected to be built between 2015 and 2020, including 10 in Luzon.

The proponents and their committed coal power projects in Luzon are South Luzon Thermal Energy Corp.’s 270-MW Puting Bato in Batangas; South Luzon Power Generation Corp.’s 300-MW station, also in Batangas; Anda Power Corp. in Pampanga, 82 MW; SMC Consolidated Power Corp. in Limay, Bataan, 300 MW; Pagbilao Energy Corp. in Quezon province, 420 MW; and San Buenaventura Power Corp. in Mauban, Quezon, 460 MW.

Luzon’s indicative coal projects, meanwhile, include the 600-M W coal plant of JG Summit Holdings Inc. in Batangas City; 40 MW of FDC Utilities in Camarines Sur; 600 MW of Redondo Peninsular Energy Inc. at the Subic Bay Freeport; 300 MW of Southwest Luzon Power Generation in Batangas; and 600- MW expansion of AES Masinloc Power Partners Co. Inc. in Zambales.