Thursday , December 3 2020
Breaking News
Home / Latest News / FPCCI urges businessmen to pay taxes to save the country
FPCCI urges businessmen to pay taxes to save the country

FPCCI urges businessmen to pay taxes to save the country

LAHORE: Pakistani businessmen should adopt the habit to paying due taxes even if it leads to minimization of their profits in order to save Pakistan.

This was stated by the new Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry Regional Chairman SM Naseer at a meeting held in honour of Chairman Pak-India Business Council SM Munir here at the FPCCI office.

“Businessmen should pay taxes for the sake of their country’s well-being and on the other hand Federal Board of Revenue should refrain from creating undue hurdles in the ways of the businessmen,” the FPCCI Regional Chairman said.

He urged the government to provide the business community with gas and electricity and never disconnect their supplies, adding that if the industry collapsed there will be unprecedented unemployment and the masses may turn violent which will be more dangerous than that of the other prevailing issues.

The government should at once announce to do away with two weekly holidays at dry ports for enhancing exports, he said, adding that it would enable Pakistan to make headway.

While appreciating governor Punjab Sarwar Chaudhry’s untiring efforts for making possible the grant of GSP Plus status for Pakistani products in the EU market, he said that the status has an immense importance for the growth and development of Pakistani economy. He hoped for Pakistan’s GDP growth to touch the mark of 6 per cent within the year.

SM Naseer assured FPCCI Small Traders Standing Committee Chairman Waqar Ahmad Mian to raise the voice of small traders at every platform.

On the occasion, SM Munir said that Pakistan has now democratically elected government and the business community should bear out the setup for economic prosperity and well-being.

Other businessmen including, Iftikhar Ali Malik, Azhar Saeed Butt, Manzoor Malik, Jamil Magoo, Azhar Saeed, Tariq Saeed Aftab Vohra, Hameed Akhtar Chada, Khwaja Khawar Rasheed, Nadeem Shami, SM Tanveer and Rizwan Shamshi were also present on the occasion.