Saturday , September 19 2020
Breaking News
Home / Business / Four KP NAB prosecutors resign
Four KP NAB prosecutors resign

Four KP NAB prosecutors resign

PESHAWAR: Four prosecutors from the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (KP) tendered their resignation on Tuesday to the NAB chairman.

The prosecutors who have resigned include Senior Prosecutor Umer Farooq, Ashfaaq Dawoodzai, Hasnain Tariq, and Zairullah Khattak. The prosecutors had been serving the anti-graft body for many years. The prosecutors cited ‘personal issues’ for resigning.

As a result of the prosecutors’ resignations, the ongoing cases in the accountability court are likely to be impacted.

KP Chief Minister Mahmood Khan on Monday claimed that he had been given a clean chit in the Malam Jabba land lease case after he appeared before the accountability watchdog.

“My signature is not on any documents and I have made my first and last appearance in the case,” said the provincial chief executive while addressing the media.

Khan also said he headed the tourism ministry in the previous provincial government and his portfolio was later switched to irrigation, adding that he “does not know” if he was in charge of the ministry at the time of the scandal.